Depression

June 29, 2006

I just read one of the most honest and helpful posts about depression. I don’t think I can add much more to it, but the writer Steve Pavlina sure has a way of connecting with people. I can only imagine what he’s like as a friend or to hear him talk in person.

His post included a rather curious quote, too. I’m going to snip it and place it here:

The deeper that sorrow carves into your being, the more joy you can contain.

Is not the cup that holds your wine the very cup that was burned in the potter’s oven?

And is not the lute that soothes your spirit, the very wood that was hollowed with knives?

When you are joyous, look deep into your heart and you shall find it is only that which has given you sorrow that is giving you joy.

When you are sorrowful look again in your heart, and you shall see in truth that you are weeping for that which has been your delight.

– Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet

It reminded me of a paper I was supposed to write at University (before dropping the class) about the link between comedy and drama, more specifically how laughter happens and is connected to sadness. Also, I’m reminded of so many interviews with comedians where they had experienced great losses in their lives or trying times. Somehow, those people can see the happiness in life more easily than those who haven’t gone through any periods of major drama. I’d have to do a search through my notebooks to find my quotes about the paper (if they still exist) to fully write about it, but for now, I suggest reading the post about depression, located here.

Technorati : ,

Leave a Reply

